Websites‎ > ‎Google Sites How-tos‎ > ‎

Google Sites - Copy Site - Change the URL of your Site

posted 28 Aug 2009, 02:39 by Stephen Hind   [ updated 3 Dec 2015, 01:26 by Stephen Hind ]

Google has just released a new feature that allows you to make copy of your site to a new location, which means you can now use this to change the URL of your site (provided the URL you want to use is not already in use, deleted or reserved).

Instructions

  1. Sign in to your site and use the More button (looks like a cog or a gear) and then Manage site.

  2. Go to the General page and scroll down and use the Copy this Site button

  3. Enter the site name, your new URL, choose if you want to keep the revisions and sharing, enter the captcha code and use the  Copy site button.

Note

  • This will not redirect your previous site's URL to your new site: you will need to put a link on your old site to your new site to direct visitors to the right place.