Google Sites Help

US ✆ +1 (302) 672 3007

UK ✆ +44 (207) 871 5021

Steegle - Google Sites & G Suite Experts

Version History - new Google Sites

Revert to previous versions, restore deleted content or view who made changes to a new Google Site

Instructions

Share via Twitter
Share via LinkedIn
Share via Facebook

View version history of a Google Site

  1. Use the three-dot More menu and choose Version history.
  2. The right-hand panel will list the Version history of what changed, and by who, on the site and the left will show how the site looked at that version.

Revert to a previous version of a new Site

  1. Open the version history (see View version history above).
  2. Scroll through the list of versions of your site and find the version of the site you want to restore and revert to.
  3. Above the site preview on the left use the Restore this version button and the site will restore that version of the site.
  4. Version history retains all the revisions of the site after the version you restored to, so you you do not lose those changes and versions and can revert back to those at any point in time.

Restore deleted content of a Google Site

  1. Open the version history (see View version history above).
  2. Find the version of your site that contains the deleted content you want to restore.
  3. Use the Restore this version button above the site preview on the left.
  4. Your site will revert to the version where the deleted content existed.

Name a version of a new Google Site

  1. Open the version history (see View version history above).
  2. Pick the version of the site you want to name.
  3. Either double-click the date or use the three-dot button and choose Name this version and enter the name you want for that site version.

Bonus Extra Text Formatting

  • Headings
    • Bulleted and/or numbered headings
    • Bold/italics in headings
  • New lines
    • instead of new paragraphs with margins
    • instead of bulleted or numbered list item

Hopefully we will see more in the future.

Availability

Version history is rolling out slowly on a user-by-user basis, first to newly created Sites, then secondly to existing Sites: Google estimates this process will take until the end of 2020 to roll out to all Google Sites

Notes

  • New Google Sites doesn't offer the option to make a copy of a version, but you can restore the version you want to copy and, once restored, Duplicate the site and then restore back to the version you want to keep.
  • If you want to restore deleted content but you have created other content you also want to keep then you may need to restore the version that provides the deleted content, Copy the site, and then use the copied site to copy and paste the content from the copied site to the add it back to the original site.

Keep up-to-date

Join the Sites Update Group on the Google Sites Classic Comparison to get email notifications about New Google Sites updates.

Subscribe to our newsletter for emails about all things Steegle